Instilling Success: Resources that Cultivate Growth as a Graduate Student

When beginning my journey at California State University, Fresno, as a first-generation graduate student, I was excited and anxious about building a professional identity. At the time, I had no clue how to be a “professional.” I was excited about the new experiences, but the unknowns fueled self-doubt. I was hearing words and phrases associated with graduate school experiences; however, everything was foreign to me. If these thoughts and/or feelings resonate, please remember that you are not alone. Fresno State has an array of resources and services available to students. These can help ease stresses as they navigate their post-baccalaureate experience. To humanize the benefits of utilizing our campus resources, I have decided to share my emotional, financial, and academic experiences with the help that allowed me an opportunity to accomplish my goals while pursuing my degree.

As mentioned above, my anxieties of being a first-generation graduate student fed my self-doubt and depression, which blocked my abilities to grow. At the time, I was performing academically, but I was struggling internally. I felt alone. I felt out of place due to a lack of experience. Within the first six weeks of the first semester, I knew I could not maintain academic success in that state of mind, so I sought help from the Student Health and Counseling Center. From there, I was able to make an appointment with a mental health counselor. My counselor and case manager helped me realize that I did not need to feel alone while on my journey through graduate school; I began to see my enrollment as having a “membership” to services, resources, and network connections within the university. This perspective sparked a realization that I belonged. I realized that I had access to the university’s resources and its employees’ time, expertise, and life experiences to help me acknowledge my own goals and needs.

With my newly acquired outlook, I found and visited the Student Cupboard. I was shocked to learn I had access to these free items: produce, meats, dairy, frozen lunches, pastries, cakes, boxed/canned goods, hygiene products, and diapers! I left the building that day with tri-tip, buns, fruit, flowers, cake, and a box of diapers for my son. I easily saved $100 in one visit. Please understand that not every visit will be a goldmine, but the Student Cupboard gives students access to staple items and other various goodies. This service decreases students’ financial woes and food insecurities. By spending 5-10 minutes a few times a week at the Student Cupboard, I decreased my anxieties related to food insecurity and finances. This also allowed me additional time to focus on my family, academics, and my goal of obtaining professional growth.

As the semesters went on and I received academic feedback, I had a desire to be a better writer. I was tired of questioning my writing abilities, so I sought assistance from the Graduate Student Success Center (GSSC). When I entered their space, their services and staff impressed me. I found myself utilizing individual and group writing consultations on a variety of topics: APA formatting, grammar, sentence structuring, constructing research questions, outlining research papers, and feedback on editorial questions. The best part of the GSSC is that it is solely available to post-baccalaureate students. The staff is comprised of individuals who genuinely care about each student’s academic needs. They also have experience with helping graduate students gain insight on their homework assignments, class papers, projects, theses, or dissertations. By utilizing 50-minute sessions with writing and statistical consultants, I grew as a writer, researcher, and professional. Ultimately, with their assistance, and a willingness to improve academically, students have an opportunity to successfully meet and exceed Fresno State’s graduate-level academic expectations.

With a stable mind, food security, and new confidence in my writing abilities, I felt I had the stability to explore and enhance my professional development skills. To do this, I went to the Career Development Center. There I learned students have access to free professional clothing (found within the Clothing Closet), financial consultations (from the Money Management Center), information on on-campus jobs, internship opportunities, and the option to schedule individual meetings with knowledgeable career counselors in a student’s field of interest. Each of these resources was beneficial to me; however, meeting with a career counselor fueled my professional development growth. I was able to engage in mock interviews, format and tailor my resume/CV to my career, create cover letters for various job opportunities, and identify resources to find employment within my field of interest. These meetings and experiences allowed me an opportunity to become self-sufficient in managing my development as a professional. With this resource, and the ability to practice these skills, I created a foundation for confidently entering the competitive job market.

So far, I’ve focused on using the resources above, but they are not the only ones that can instill success. I owe many thanks to those within the Student Services for Disabilities, Support Net, Discover-E, Financial Aid and Scholarships, the Library’s Tech Lending Program, and the librarian who helped me identify how to utilize various online databases and many other items. Ultimately, my takeaway point is that without my willingness to seek assistance I would not be the person, student, and professional I am today. I hope my shared experiences encourage a willingness for future and current students to utilize any (or all) of the resources available through Fresno State. I truly hope you (the reader) never let fear or the unknown stop you from asking for help. I truly believe that no matter what is going on with your life, or how limited the time is that you have set aside for your post-baccalaureate experience, there is likely something or someone who can connect you with resources or assistance. Being comfortable with asking for help is what allowed me the ability to go above and beyond my goals and graduate in December 2021. If you made it this far on this blog entry, it means you care about your growth or the growth of others as they explore the realms of graduate student life. Be vulnerable, ask for help, explore possibilities, and discuss your needs with those around you. If one individual does not know how to help you, it is likely that they will connect you with another person or resource that can. Remember, you are not alone and you can accomplish what you desire.

Go Dogs!

By: Chris Johnson

Leave a comment